Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

High-level United Nations delegation to update on Ebola outbreak

May 21 @ 3:48 pm EDT

Press conference September 3, 2014 at 10:3AM EDT (Washington DC time)

Media Advisory

HIGH-LEVEL UNITED NATIONS DELEGATION TO UPDATE ON EBOLA OUTBREAK

WHAT:

The UN’s senior leadership on Ebola will give the latest update on the situation in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Senegal, and Sierra Leone, and take questions from media about the newly committed UN surge and Roadmap for the global response.


WHO
:

Dr Margaret Chan, Director-General, World Health Organization

Dr David Nabarro, Senior UN System Coordinator for Ebola Disease

Dr Keiji Fukuda, Assistant Director-General for Health Security, World Health Organization


WHERE
:

United Nations Foundation

1750 Pennsylvania Ave, 12th Floor

Washington, DC 20006

USA

Please use the following numbers to join by phone:

Toll-free US: 1-800-247-5110

Toll: 1-334-323-7224


WHEN
:

Wednesday, 3 September 2014, 10h30 EDT (Washington DC time)/16h30 CET (Geneva time)/14h30 GMT


WHY
:

Dr Nabarro and Dr Fukuda just returned from a needs assessment in the affected countries, in order to shape the new surge response plan that the UN has committed to in the region.  Dr Chan recently visited the region and led the development of the WHO Roadmap for global response.


RSVP:


Mariam Khan: mkhan@unfoundation.org, +1 202.887.9040


CONTACT
:

Christy Feig, Director of Communications, World Health Organization:  feigc@who.int, +41.79.251.7055

Eric Porterfield, Senior Communications Director, United Nations Foundation:  eporterfield@unfoundation.org, +1 202.352.6087

Donna Eberwine-Villagrán, Media and Communication, Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization:  eberwind@paho.org, Tel. +1 202 974 3122, Mobile +1 202 316 5469

Details

Date:
May 21
Time:
3:48 pm UTC-4